Skip to content

Lightening the Load

March 25, 2010

Slowly but surely, I’m plodding through the week and everything is falling into place.  Report cards are ready to go.  Forms are getting filled out…and it’s been a week without crazy glue!  I’m not complaining!

This morning I was a little negative about running today.  I basically wanted ideal conditions…warm and calm…and we all know you can’t always get what you want! Sing it, people! Today’s weather did come pretty close though.  It was 62* and breezy, but not windy. I set out on one of my typical routes.  I didn’t feel very fast today, but I was moving at a better pace than I thought.

Total Distance: 4.2 miles

  • Mile 1 – 8:22/mi
  • Mile 2 – 8:46/mi
  • Mile 3 – 8:37/mi
  • Mile 4 – 8:49/mi
  • 0.20 m – 8:28/mi

Average Pace: 8:38/mi

Total Time: 36:10

It was a strong run and better than I expected from myself.  I guess all the extra sleep last night was exactly what I needed.  It didn’t hurt that I was rushing back to spend some QT with Adam.

After contemplating dinner for a bit, Adam and I settled on a local spot – Grumpy’s.  I’ve blogged about it before – the consistent, local, pub-grub establishment.  I started with the salad bar, as usual.

Round one.

I enjoyed my first salad with the house Italian dressing and a warm, crusty slice of bread.  It was so crisp and fresh that I headed back for seconds.

Round two.

I switched it up with the dressing for salad #2 and went with the sweeter raspberry vinaigrette.  Then it was time for soup!

A crock of chowdah!

I don’t think I’ve had Manhattan clam chowder since last summer, so I went for it tonight.  It was thick – the way I like it – with big chunks of potatoes.  I topped it with some oyster crackers for crunch.  I liked the chowder, but needed extra water to get it down.  It was salty! That didn’t stop me from chowing on a rogue chicken wing that slipped off Adam’s plate.

Wings 'n things.

This was a pretty good wing, just missing my old friend, Buffalo sauce.  I was had a reputation as the queen of Buffalo wings! I ordered them all. the. time!  Things have changed a little, but I still love me some wings!

I also love me some ice cream!

I scream, you scream!

Sorry you missed the first couple bites.  I assure you, they were dreamy!  I topped some creamy vanilla ice cream with “wicked good” raspberry chocolate jam and a few crushed Annie’s bunnies.  It was the perfect way to end the day.  I’m looking forward to relaxing with Lucy and counting the hours ’til the weekend!


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

