Skip to content

Mocha Madness

March 25, 2010

I think I fell asleep before 9:00 last night.  I was wiped! Lucy was nagging me to go to bed and I finally gave in.  When I woke up this morning, I was refreshed and the creative juices were flowing.  To give myself an extra boost, I whipped up a batch of Mocha Oats. I’ve seen Caitlin’s coffee oats, using instant coffee, and decided to try my hand at a new version.

Caffeine for breakfast.

In the mix:

  • 1/2 c. old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 c. freshly brewed black hazelnut coffee
  • 1/2 c. almond milk
  • 1 sliced banana
  • Toppings: a few dark chocolate chips, 1 T. Galaxy granola, 1 T. Dark Chocolate Dreams PB, and some shredded coconut

The coffee flavor was not strong at all.  It was a tasty bowl, but I actually would’ve enjoy more coffee undertones.  Maybe the instant coffee would work better – don’t worry, I’ll try it and let you know! Or…maybe my chocolate toppings just overtook the bowl.  The experiment continues…

***

It’s already Thursday!  I’m surviving this week.  I did, however, wake up with this nagging feeling that I’m forgetting something.  I seem to remember that I had a haircut scheduled for this week, but I can’t find the any appointment card.  I guess Lisa will be getting a call today – hope I didn’t already stand her up!

I’ll be hitting the pavement again today.  I haven’t run outside since Sunday and I need to get some fresh air.  I will say this:  I hate wind! The forecast for today said “breezy,” which translates to gale forces gusts to this runner!  Am I whining?! Bad, bad Beck!

Moving on to more positive thoughts…have an amazing day! It’s date night tonight – yay!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2010 12:42 pm

    Good luck on your run! I hope there’s just a slight breeze.

  2. March 25, 2010 3:31 pm

    Stop you’re whining! :o)

    I should’ve made oats w/ coffee this morning! Jared brewed a fresh pot so it would’ve been perfect to add. oh well, an idea for another day!

Leave a Reply

