Skip to content

Power Pancakes

March 26, 2010

Pancakes.  How I’ve missed you!  I go through food phases – don’t we all? – and for awhile I was making oatmeal pancakes almost daily.  I switched back to bowls of oats, but it was time for something new…er, old…this morning.  I’m excited that it’s Friday and couldn’t wait to get into the kitchen.

Power Pancakes ready for eatin'.

Power Pancakes (serves one):

In the batter:

  • 1/3 c. quick-cooking oats
  • 1/3 c. liquid egg whites
  • 1 T. ground flaxseed
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon

Toppings:

  • 1 banana
  • 1 T. SF maple syrup
  • 1 T. almond butter

Directions:

  1. Preheat a non-stick skillet or griddle.
  2. Mix all batter ingredients.
  3. Pour batter onto griddle to form 2 pancakes.
  4. Slice 1/2 of the banana and lay slices evenly on top of the pancakes.
  5. Flip when pancakes slide easily.
  6. Eat and enjoy!

Sizzling on the griddle.

I love bananas in pancakes, but I don’t like to incorporate them into the batter.  By laying the slices on one side of the pancakes, they get sweet, gooey, and caramelized when you flip ’em.  It’s so delicious!  Once these were topped and hit my lips, I was in heaven.  It feels so special to eat pancakes during the week.  These aren’t the light, fluffy Bisquick variety, but I think they’re better and so easy!  I hope you have a chance to give these a try.  They will definitely power you through a long day.

For the first time all week, I feel energetic and excited about the day – just in time for the weekend!

Happy Friday!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

