Skip to content

To Grandmother’s House I Go

March 27, 2010

What a morning! I woke up feeling cheerful and energetic.  At seven, I sat down to eat breakfast #1.

Pre-run fuel.

I had two slices of toast with almond butter and some black coffee.  It’s predictable, but it works for me.  For the next hour I tackled some long overdue chores.  I paid bills and organized paperwork while breakfast digested.  So productive!  It wasn’t long before I felt ready to hit the road.  Last week I chose a pretty boring route for my long run, so this week I took a new approach….the scenic route.

I set out through my neighborhood and ran wherever I felt like running.  I crossed the border into MA after a few miles.  I laughed to myself as I rambled through the back country roads of Blackstone.  I loved seeing familiar places from a new perspective.  I used my Garmin as my guide and new it was time to reach a destination once I heard the familiar chirp for nine miles.  A few minutes later, I was back at Grammy’s!

Grammy love.

I was pumped when I looked down at my Garmin!

Hooray for long runs!

Total Distance: 9.54 miles

  • Mile 1 – 8:46/mi
  • Mile 2 – 8:55/mi
  • Mile 3 – 8:52/mi
  • Mile 4 – 9:01/mi
  • Mile 5 – 9:18/mi
  • Mile 6 – 9:24/mi
  • Mile 7 – 9:06/mi
  • Mile 8 – 8:48/mi
  • Mile 9 – 9:05/mi
  • 0.54 m – 8:54/mi (4:50 min)

Average Pace: 9:01/mi

Total Time: 1:26:09

At 5.5 miles, I started feeling like I needed a boost, so I popped two Luna Moons.  They did the trick and I had the energy I needed to finish strong.  I feel like I’m gaining some control over my pace and staying more consistent.  With the completion of each long run, I am getting more and more excited for the half!

Gram had all the makings for some perfect post-run refueling.  I quickly whipped up a batch of banana oats.

Classic banana oats.

She had quick oats, so this bowl came together in nothing flat!

  • 1/2 c. quick oats
  • 1/2 c. skim milk
  • 1/2 c. water
  • 1 banana – 1/2 cooked into the mix, 1/2 sliced on top
  • cinnamon

It was a chilly run and this warm bowl tasted like the best thing I ever ate!

I hitched a ride home, got my act together and now I’m ready for some shopping.  Time to update my spring wardrobe!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Carol permalink
    March 28, 2010 10:39 pm

    Awesome run Becky!!! I had to run alone today:( Uncle Jon hasn’t been feeling well all weekend, some stomach bug, yuck!! I did 8.4 today, I felt really good,my time was 1hour and 18 mins. Great picture of you and Gram!!

    • March 28, 2010 10:44 pm

      Congrats to you, too! I ran by your house yesterday and was thinking of you the whole time. It’s a mental test to do the long runs alone, but only makes us stronger! Hope Uncle Jon feels better soon.

Leave a Reply

