Skip to content

Old-Fashioned Favorites

March 28, 2010

I vowed to have a lazy day, but I always look forward to making a family meal on Sunday.  Nothing extravagant, just a family favorite.  Tonight I did double-duty – dinner and dessert!

For dinner, I made Shepherd’s Pie. It was my favorite meal as a kid and I hadn’t made it in ages.  It’s such a simple and comforting casserole.

The Shepherd's Pie.

There’s a million versions of this dish, so here’s mine.

Bottom Layer: Ground beef.  I browned and drained 93% lean ground beef with chopped onion and seasoned with salt and pepper.

Middle Layer: Corn.  I mixed one can of creamed corn with one can of niblets, drained.

Top Layer: Mashed potatoes.  I boiled the potatoes until they soften and then whipped them with the hand mixer.  I added skim milk, cream cheese, salt, pepper, garlic powder, and a smidge of real butter.  I topped the potatoes with freshly grated parmesan cheese.

The entire dish baked in the oven at 350* for 30 minutes.  When it was ready, I helped myself to a healthy portion.

Pie in a bowl.

This may not be my typical “health-ed up” dinner, but it sure was delicious!

***

Since the oven was warm, I decided to go ahead and bake a batch of cookies for dessert.  I was inspired by Tina’s recipe for Chocolate Chip Banana Bread Cookies. When I read her post this morning, I knew I had to make these and I had a ripe banana waiting for a recipe.  The cookies looked delicious, but I had to tweak the recipe a bit based on the ingredients I had.

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread Cookies (based on a recipe from Carrots ‘N Cake)

Are you a cookie monster?

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 c. old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 1/2 c. shredded coconut
  • 1/2 c. natural, unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 1 c. dark chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 egg

Even though I had to change some ingredients, I followed Tina’s instructions to bake the cookies.  I just combined all of the ingredients in a large bowl, put dollops of the batter onto a non-stick coated baking sheet, and baked for 20 minutes @ 350*.  These were delicious!  Thanks, Tina, for the fabulous recipe!

***

My legs are a little sore from yesterday’s run, so I will be enjoying a nice epsom salt bath tonight…and some cookies!

What is your favorite cookie flavor? I don’t think you can ever go wrong with classic chocolate chip and most variations, but I also LOVE peanut butter cookies, of course!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2010 12:18 am

    chocolate chip, hands down.

  2. jil permalink
    March 29, 2010 1:22 am

    try pureed cauliflower in lieu of mashed potatoes, or do a combo of the two. SOO yummy! ( and less carb!)

    • March 29, 2010 10:40 am

      Great idea, Jil! Thanks for sharing…and visiting the blog 🙂

  3. Patty permalink
    March 29, 2010 10:31 am

    I have a recipe for a pumpkin oatmeal chocolate chip cookie…..they are by no means healthy, but a great treat!

Leave a Reply

