Skip to content

Patience

March 28, 2010

After a long day yesterday, I slept a little later than usual and made a steaming bowl of oats when I got up.

I cooked flaxseed into the mix and it made my oats thick and nutty – a nice addition!  I also added PB, dried cranberries, and dark chocolate chips on top.  It was a typical bowl, but I really enjoyed it this morning.

***

I signed up for the 11:00 yoga class at Raffa.  Taking a class there requires more time because I have to travel 30 minutes each way, but it was so worth it.  I took a hot power yoga class and had a great instructor.  She’s great at breaking down poses and challenging our bodies in new ways.  The theme of today’s class was patience. I’m not a patient person and this is something I need to work on in my life, so it was a perfect focus for me.  Yoga really does teach you to be patient with your body because giving it time to breathe and adjust to new poses allows you to do more than you think is possible.

I’m still new to hot yoga and only practice a couple of times a week, so I learn from every experience.  I am amazed by the way the body organically moves into difficult poses with the power of the breathe and the heat.  Today I managed to hold side crow on both sides and worked my way into a headstand without the wall!  I know I need to train with weights, but these classes make me feel so strong!  Practicing yoga on Sunday really puts me in the right frame of mind to begin a new week.

***

After yoga, I was hungry!  Oats fill me for awhile, but it was way past my lunch time when I got home.  I quickly showered and changed before meeting up with Adam for lunch.  We went to J’s Deli for sandwiches.

I ordered a whole wheat wrap with grilled chicken, lettuce, tomato, and mozzarella – and a side of buffalo sauce. I love a wrap with a kick!  I ate half of this big sandwich along with the pickle and a few of Adam’s chips.  J’s Deli is known for their big sandwiches and this filled me right up.

I think the rest of the day will be pretty lazy.  I’m still zenned out and ready to cuddle my puppy.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 28, 2010 8:01 pm

    My favorite lunch is a deli sandwich. I’m always on the hunt for a good local deli! That wrap looks delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

