Skip to content

A Happy Meal

March 29, 2010

No! I didn’t eat at McDonald’s today. My dinner was way better than that!

First, a treadmill run. The monsoons outside kept me indoors today, but it wasn’t so bad.  I rushed around after work and munched on an unpictured apple and 1/2 a Clif bar to fuel my workout.  By the time I got to the gym, my legs were warm and ready to go.  I followed one of my favorite plans for 3+ miles on the treadmill:  negative splits!

  • Mile 1 – 6.8 mph (8:49/mi)
  • Mile 2 – 6.9 mph (8:41/mi)
  • Mile 3 – 7.0 mph (8:34/mi)
  • Mile 4 – 7.1 mph (8:27/mi)
  • Mile 5 – 7.2 mph (8:20/mi)

I actually did the last tenth of a mile at 8.0 mph (7:30/mi), so I could finish strong.  I felt really good throughout this run.  Maybe I should’ve bumped up the speed a little bit, but it was also nice to feel so great at the end.

***

I was ready for dinner when I got home for the gym and I had a happy meal planned.  I got everything prepped and into the oven and munched on some cukes drizzled in balsamic while dinner cooked.

Solid hydration.

I decided to channel my inner Ronald McDonald and baked up some nuggets and fries with BBQ sauce!  These were a wee bit different from the typical fast food version.

Where's the toy?!

I breaded chunks of chicken breast in seasoned, whole wheat crumbs.  On the side I crisped up some parsnip fries and Brussels sprouts.  I put everything on one baking sheet at 425* for about 20 minutes.  Everything was perfectly done at the same time.  Man, it hit the spot!

People often ask if I still crave junk food.  The truth is, this food is so much better! I still eat my share of decadent desserts, pizza, and chocolate, but fast-food really doesn’t appeal to me anymore.  I also resent spending my hard-earned money on meals that I know I could make better at home.  Just some thoughts….

It’s still early and I’m in for the night.  YAY for PJ’s on rainy days!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

