Skip to content

Refueling

March 29, 2010

This weekend I’ve been thinking a lot about fuel for long runs.  I feel great during my long runs, so I think I am fueling properly, but refueling seems to be a problem.  The day after a long run I feel like I could eat non-stop, which tells me that I probably didn’t refuel the way I should have.  I tend to give myself permission to eat extra dessert after a long run.  While there’s nothing wrong with dessert – it’s not an option for me to skip it! – I also need to consume nutrient-rich whole foods.

If you run longer distances, how do you fuel and refuel? I know everyone is different, but I am looking to find what works for me.

***

With healthy eating on my mind, I made myself a great bowl of oats for breakfast.  Nothing fancy, just a basic combo!

Banana Flaxseed Oats:

  • 1/2 c. old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 c. skim milk
  • 1/2 c. water
  • 1/2 sliced banana (yesterday’s leftovers!)
  • 1 T. ground flaxseed
  • Toppings: 1 T. raisins, 1 T. Teddie’s PB

My oats reached the perfect consistency this morning.  They were thick and creamy – just the way I like ’em! The cute bowl made them even better!

To keep with our New England tradition, the rain came pouring down this morning.  Apparently, it’s staying for awhile.  Good thing…I think the flood warnings were about to be lifted!  Ugh!  Oh well, I’ll have a chance to bond with my lucky treadmill this afternoon.

Have a great Monday!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

