Skip to content

The Power of Sun

April 1, 2010

What a great day!  I wish I had pictures of all the fun we had in kindergarten today, but I just don’t feel comfortable taking blog photos at school….I’m sure you can understand!  The highlights were:

  1. Slim Goodbody! Yes, Slim Goodbody exists and he paid a visit to our school today.  He sang and danced about healthy bodies for a good while and the kids loved every minute! It was fun and interactive…and hilarious! A guy in a spandex bodysuit dancing and singing – what’s not to love!
  2. Recess! We got to play outside for the first time in days.  Everyone was delighted and rockin’ the sunglasses.
  3. Make Your Own Sundae Party! You read that right – we made sundaes today.  My class won an ice cream party for raising money for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.  We raised over $145 in spare change!  Way to go, kids!  You made Miss Paige proud!

***

I wasn’t hungry for a snack when I got home from work because I had a couple spoonfuls of ice cream with the kids.  I was tempted to have more, but didn’t want to take any chance of ruining my planned run….OUTSIDE!  Finally! I set out on a 5 mile run.  My only goal was to enjoy the beautiful weather.  Apparently, the sun worked it’s magic because I had a fun, fabulous run.

Total Distance: 5.01 miles

  • Mile 1 – 8:14/mi
  • Mile 2 – 8:32/mi
  • Mile 3 – 8:33/mi
  • Mile 4 – 9:00/mi
  • Mile 5 – 8:49/mi

Average Pace: 8:37/mi

Total Time: 43:15

I loved listening to the birds chirp as I ran…but I felt bad running by all the houses with dumpsters in their yards.  The storm really hit hard and the cleanup efforts will continue for quite awhile.

***

I got home and made a quick Chicken and Vegetable Stir Fry. It’s such an easy meal and always a crowd pleaser.

Over high heat, I stir fried:

  • cubed chicken
  • red, green, and yellow bell peppers
  • sugar snap peas
  • yellow onion
  • Sauce: low-sodium tamari, low-sodium teryaki, black pepper, and ground ginger

I piled my serving atop a scoop of brown rice and it was amazing!  I love the taste of the rice after the stir fry sauce seeps through.  It was also nice to have a meal with so many fresh veggies.

I have no work tomorrow and it’s my rest day from exercise, so tonight is definitely a welcome opportunity to relax.  I’m thinking at-home pedicure and a dose of Real Housewives!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 2, 2010 1:28 am

    I love the Housewives. I want to go to NYC and visit Zarin Fabrics with the hope of running into Jill.

Leave a Reply

