Skip to content

It Hurts So Good

April 3, 2010

What a fabulous morning for a run!  I met with my favorite running group – my family – at the Blackstone River Bikeway, promptly at 9.  We set out for a sunny, ten miler.  It was such a lovely morning to be outside on the scenic path.  The river was still rushing, the birds were chirping, and there were friendly faces all around us.

Total Distance: 10 miles!  Double digits!  Yeah, baby!

  • Mile 1 – 9:13/mi
  • Mile 2 – 9:21/mi
  • Mile 3 – 9:02/mi
  • Mile 4 – 9:28/mi
  • Mile 5 – 9:36/mi
  • Mile 6 – 9:56/mi
  • Mile 7 – 9:48/mi
  • Mile 8 – 9:40/mi
  • Mile 9 – 9:54/mi
  • Mile 10- 9:53/mi

Average Pace: 9:35/mi

Total Time: 1:35:57

This run was so enjoyable!  I loved running with Melissa.  We had so much to talk about!  It was non-stop chit-chat.  My body and mind felt great the entire time.  This run made me feel really great about my ability to run the 1/2 marathon in under two hours.

I’m heading out to lunch with my friend, Meg, so I’ll be eating soon…but I grabbed an orange for some quick refueling.

I’ll be out and about all day, so I wanted to make sure to treat my body well after my run.  I still can’t believe this, but I did the unthinkable….ice bath!

WOWZA!  It was excruciating and exhilarating all at the same time.  I quickly realized hot tea was the only way to survive.

Yikes!  I white-knuckled it the whole time…but sooo worth it!  I followed my ice bath up with a luke-warm shower and my body feels good as new.  I have plans for some serious foam rolling tonight, too.

Gotta run!  The lunch bell is ringing!

Have you ever done an ice bath? If so, props to you!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Betsy permalink
    April 3, 2010 5:56 pm

    Hi! Congrats on your long run.
    Yes, I have done a few ice baths (when I was training for marathons). Oh, they hurt, but help so much! Those leg muscles take a beating when they work so hard for so long.
    Drinking hot tea in the tub looks like a good idea!
    Hope you had a nice rest of the day!
    Have a fabulous weekend and Easter
    🙂 Betsy

  2. April 3, 2010 6:10 pm

    The first time I took an ice bath, I literally cried. hahaha! After a while though, I kind of started to crave them. And yes, hot tea is the way to go!

  3. April 3, 2010 10:00 pm

    I take ice baths everyday. Love them. One tip though, take the ice bath after you take your shower because hot water causes your muscles to swell at first while cold water is used to prevent inflammation and swelling. My old trainer recomended heat first then cold. It might be different for you though….good luck 🙂

    • April 4, 2010 12:34 am

      Melissa – thanks for that bit of information. It totally makes sense and I think I’ll switch up the order of things next time 🙂

Leave a Reply

