Skip to content

S’More Please

April 3, 2010

After a full afternoon of fun, I decided to have a quieter Friday night.  I definitely enjoyed it because it included good food and good conversation.

I come from a long line and meat ‘n potato eaters.  I’ve worked really hard to incorporate fun, new ingredients into our meals, but some things still get shunned.  Exhibit A – Thai food. I love it, crave it, and never eat it because I have nobody to enjoy it with.  Adam will eat it if he has to, but that’s no fun! So last night, I ordered me some Tofu Pad Thai. Go me!

I served myself a bowl and saved the rest for another day.  As expected, it was delicious!  I topped my portion with a healthy sprinkle of red pepper flakes and loved the extra kick.  Yum-o-rama!

I was just getting over the joy of eating my beloved pad thai when the dessert bug bit.  I nixed the usual vanilla fro-yo and had s’more fun!

I spread a thin layer of PB and some dark chocolate chips between two graham crackers, zapped it for 20 seconds and voila! Sweet tooth, be gone!  I love when silly little combos like this work perfectly.  I always laugh because why did it take me so long to think of that?!”

Later in the evening, I crossed town and found my BFF in our favorite kitchen spot.  I joined her for a few hours of girl talk and iced water – we’re cool like that! At least I’m well hydrated because I’m running 10 miles in an hour or so.  I’ve already fueled up.

If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it! I know this is far from an exciting breakfast, but it’s the best running fuel I’ve come across and if I want to break the double-digit barrier this morning, I’m sticking with it.

***

As the seasons change, I’m having a difficult time figuring out what to wear – story of my life!  – during my runs.  I tend to overdress.  I hate starting out with even the slightest chill, but then I end up overheating.  I was texting my friend last night and vowed, “no more sweaty elbows!” You see, I wear long sleeve tech shirts all the time and end up with giant circles of sweat at the elbow.  I know, I’m a weirdo.  Today I’m going to try to wear some warmer weather gear and see how it goes!

What’s your favorite thing to wear on a run?

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 4, 2010 8:18 am

    I hear you!

    Living in freezing cold Sweden presents me with issues now as its hard to make the transition into spring. It got as low as minus 4 F here and was like that for a long time.

    I went for a run on Thursday and boy did I overdress!!! Luckily it was just a 4 miler but todays run I am even considering shorts, definitely no need for a base layer!!

    Nice that spring has arrived in Scandinavia!

Leave a Reply

