Skip to content

A Gourmet Day

April 4, 2010

I couldn’t have planned a more relaxing Saturday if I tried.  My long run put me in a fabulous mood, which continued throughout this day of sunshine and springtime.  I picked up Meg and we headed into Providence for lunch and shopping – our classic girls’ day combo.

For lunch, we went to Olga’s Cup and Saucer.  It’s such an adorable cafe/bakery with a great area for dining al fresco.  The breeze was chillier than I expected, so I started with a personal pot of acai green tea.  Too cute!

It was such a feminine tea…I loved it!  For lunch, I ordered the cheddar vegetable melt.

It was a lovely sandwich.  With the first bite, I enjoyed to crunch of Olga’s freshly baked sourdough bread.  They crisped it nicely without overloading it with oil or butter.  The filling was excellent, too.  The sandwich contained spinach, roasted red peppers, caramelized onions, and the star – cheddar cheese!  It was a hearty portion and I ate about 3/4 before feeling full.  On the side, I was served a yummy red cabbage slaw.  I loved the absence of the mayo.  It was fresh and tasty!

***

Meg and I moved on to Providence Place for a little shopping.  On the recommendation of Melissa, I went to Lucky in search of jeans.  JACKPOT!  I found the perfect pair of dark denim skinny jeans…not to mention many others…but I was responsible and only bought one pair.  It was so refreshing to try on pants that fit in the waist and legs without alteration.  I will definitely go back there in the future.  Thanks, Melissa, for the great fashion find!

***

Meg and I wrapped up our day early and I headed home to join my momma on some errands.  I felt like I had been going non-stop all day and by 6:30, I was ready for dinner.  I had been wanting to try a new deli in the area and my mom was along for the ride.  Trattoria Express it was!

This deli was more of a cafe and it was adorable!  I loved to Italian decor and display cases filled with beautiful deli selections and desserts.  During the day, Trattoria Express is a traditional deli with counter service, but after 4 pm they offer table service.  We were seated at a cute little table for two where we started with iced water and fresh bread.

This was easily some of the best bread I’ve had in a long time.  It was hot and fresh, with a crunchy crust and warm doughy center.  I don’t know how to adequately describe it, but it was special. For dinner, I kept it light and ordered the Tuscan Salad.

It was everything I love in a salad: mixed greens, cucumbers, tomatoes, fresh mozzarella, sun-dried tomatoes, rosemary roasted chicken breast, and a balsamic drizzle.  Fresh and filling!  My mom and I had such a nice time together at dinner. It was the perfect ending to my day.

I’m off to get ready for a visit from the Easter bunny!  I hope everyone’s Saturday is spectacular!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2010 12:57 am

    What a great day! I was in such a good mood after our run too. I’m glad we made a plan for the 1/2. It’s going to be great to race together! 🙂

  2. April 4, 2010 7:54 am

    Your posts are so enlightening and inspirational Miss.

    I love the way your blog combines both running and healthy eating.

    I am now in my second month as a vegetarian and loving it. This was all inspired by NoMeatAthlete and your goodself.

    I stayed at a residential course last week in Holland. Bad food and alcohol galore but I stuck to my veggie diet, no alcohol and ran 10 miles. This is a huge difference for me.

    Keep up the great work!

    • April 4, 2010 10:40 am

      Congratulations to you! I’m so excited to hear about the healthy changes you’ve made. It sounds like you are living so well…keep up the great work! I’m sure you are an example and an inspiration to many!

  3. April 4, 2010 12:34 pm

    Glad you found jeans. They’re so tough to find. I have to get mine in the juniors section at JCPenney! Did I just admit that?! haha!
    Happy Easter girl!

Leave a Reply

