Skip to content

Hoppin’ Down The Bunny Trail

April 5, 2010

The Easter celebration continued long into the day.  After unwinding from a fun family breakfast, we went to my Grammy’s for a late lunch.  When I arrived, I was immediately drawn to the gorgeous hors d’oeuvres spread provided by my aunt.

I stuck to fresh fruit and veggies as I munched my way through the afternoon.  It was so nice to bite into juicy pieces of watermelon…it’s been too long! I also enjoyed soaking up some sun on my gram’s deck and chatting with my family.  They are the only people I know that can talk as much…if not more…than me!  Yeah, it gets loud! 🙂

Time for “linner!”  I wasn’t starving, but I was ready to enjoy a nice meal and that it was!

My plate included fruited ham, roasted asparagus, summer squash, zucchini, green beans, and a twice-baked potato.  I loved all of the fresh veggies and, of course, the potatoes!  Twice-baked potatoes are an old favorite and we always have them at holiday dinners.

We sat around the table talking for a bit before it was time to break into dessert.  I had been eyeing these:

My gram bought these lovely cakes at Wright’s Dairy Farm.  They are famous for their amazing dessert selection and these cakes lived up to the reputation!  I served myself a small slice of each – taste test!

If you’re wondering, the surefire winner was…..lemon cake! It was light, moist, and had a refreshing lemon zing.  I’ll admit that I’m partial to fruity desserts and this cake did not disappoint.

After quality time with my family, I stopped by to visit Adam’s family.  It was still bustling over there, but I was feeling full and tired.  I visited for a bit before heading home to change into something comfy to relax for the evening.  My mom and I took the dogs for another short walk.  It was nice to get some fresh air and move around a bit after enjoying all that yummy food…maybe I took a power nap, too!

***

All of the great eats left me feeling satisfied for quite awhile, but I knew I wouldn’t make it until breakfast without some nourishment.  For a light dinner, I whipped up a Green Monster.

How refreshing!

  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • ~ 1 c. skim milk
  • 1/2 banana
  • fresh blueberries
  • a handful of frozen tropical fruit
  • 2 ice cubes

….magic bulleted to perfection!  On the side, I had a slice of toast with almond butter.

OK – packing it in for the night.  RED SOX OPENING DAY! Just me and Rem Dawg tonight...it’s official, spring is here!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2010 1:06 am

    Let’s go SOX!!!

  2. April 5, 2010 1:07 pm

    The frosting on that cake looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

