Skip to content

Fun Run

April 6, 2010

One of the big perks of my job is getting home when the sun is still shining.  No matter what the season, I can always enjoy daylight after work.  Today, I definitely took advantage.  Melissa was still in town, so we planned another run together.  I geared up and fueled up before driving to her hometown to meet up.

These bars definitely rank up there as a favorite.  I loved the chewy, peanut butter pretzel flavor.  It wasn’t too dense or highly processed…just right for a pre-run snack!  Melissa and I decided to run around her town.  It was fun to chat and enjoy some new scenery on such a beautiful afternoon.  I talked her ear off, but we did keep our pace a little bit faster than Saturday’s long run.  We even kicked some booty as we ran up a giant hill at the end!

Total Distance: 5.7 miles

  • Mile 1 – 9:16/mi
  • Mile 2 – 9:05/mi
  • Mile 3 – 9:19/mi
  • Mile 4 – 9:20/mi
  • Mile 5 – 9:34/mi
  • 0.7 mi – 8:53/mi

Average Pace: 9:16/mi

Total Time: 52:41

***

However boring it may be, sometimes simple food is the best!  Tonight that was all I wanted for dinner.  I roasted sweet potato and zucchini and plated it up with some vegetarian baked beans.

I love to dip the sweet potato fries into the baked bean juices…a lovely combo!  Dinner was delicious and powered me through another round of exercise.  I couldn’t bare to short-change Lucy, so I joined my mom and the pups for a brisk 2.5 mile walk through the neighborhood.  We also took a quick trip to re-stock the fridge and pantry.  How productive!

After all the activity, I was ready for another snack.  I opted for something new…honeynana Chobani!  I am still searching for the elusive dessert-y Oikos, but this was a pleasant substitute.  It had a sweet flavor with strong banana understones…might as well have been wine!…anyway, topped with some Galaxy granola, how could I go wrong?!

…and a token piece of Easter chocolate!

It was such a great Monday, crammed most of my favorite things  – sunshine, family, running, and good eats!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2010 2:02 am

    You just reminded me that I haven’t snacked on anything from my Easter basket yet today! Gotta go fix that soon 🙂

    Btw, I like your new banner!

  2. April 6, 2010 8:49 am

    Sounds like a fun day! I like stirring a Laughing Cow wedge into my baked beans. It’s delicious!

Leave a Reply

