Skip to content

Thirteen Hours

April 6, 2010

LUUUCY…I’m home!  I’ve conditioned my body to do a lot of things, but I still can’t hack thirteen hour workdays – up at 5:30 am, home at 6:30 pm.  Luckily I had some good eats to get me through the day.

Our school won a fresh fruit and vegetable grant.  Through the grant we have been receiving fresh produce for our students on Tuesdays and Thursdays.  It’s been a great opportunity for the babes to sample produce and the teachers get to enjoy some, too!  I was very excited when a shiny box of Granny Smiths arrived this morning.  I never buy these and rarely eat them, but for some reason, I was totally in the mood.  What a great mid-morning snack!

I’ll admit, I’m a lazy blogger, and never photograph my weekday lunches. They aren’t very interesting, but today I managed a tasty wrap, a pear, and a piece of dark chocolate.  Since I knew I wouldn’t get a break after school, I opted to put together something a little better than the usual leftovers.

I had about 3 minutes to myself between dismissal and conferences, so I whipped out a handy, on-the-go snack.

This bar was dense, chewy, and yummy.  I loved the big almond chunks!  I ate about 1/3 at 3:30 and polished off the rest around 5:30.  I spaced out my snacking because I wanted to be fueled up for a run as soon as I got home…planning is key!

***

The skies were getting darker by the time I made it home, but I only had 3 miles on the schedule and knew I could fit it in.  I was feeling a little tired, but I love that post-run high after a long day and couldn’t resist!

Total Distance: 3.01 m

  • Mile 1 – 8:29/mi
  • Mile 2 – 8:38/mi
  • Mile 3 – 9:11/mi

Total Time: 26:22

Average Pace: 8:36/mi

***

Dinner was hot and ready after my run.  It was on Dad tonight and he pulled through for me!  Sometimes less is more and that’s his motto.  I was proud of him for whipping up a healthy batch of…American Chop Ravioli?

In a large pot, he combined:

I enjoyed every last bite of this meal…because someone else cooked it! I’m happy to say, it’s still early and I have the rest of the night to sit back and relax…

G’night, my dears!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 12:22 am

    Hahaha Gregg’s Kitchen has come a long way since the Ramen noodle days. 😉

    • April 7, 2010 12:26 am

      It’s amazing what a crazy daughter and some insulin can do to a guy!

  2. April 7, 2010 12:33 am

    Yuck 13 hours is torture! I’m glad you made it through.

    The grant sounds fabulous. It’s too bad every school can’t have it. I hope the students get to try new and different things and tell their parents they want more at home 🙂

    Great job fitting in that run!

  3. April 7, 2010 1:02 am

    Ugh, most of my days are 12 or 13 hours long, so I definitely feel your pain. At least you got a nice, subsidized snack and a run in! 🙂

    I remember I used to LOVE American chop suey for school lunch in elementary school. Thinking about it now, it must’ve been so unhealthy! Your dad’s version looks like a fresher, healthier recipe.

  4. April 7, 2010 1:26 pm

    Beck , I would not call you a lazy blogger! Far from it! I love the way you produce photos of a lot of what you eat. Very inspiring. I would do the same but…I guess I am an ok cook, my dishes taste great, I am just rubbish at presentation!

Leave a Reply

