Skip to content

Nut Butter FAIL

April 7, 2010

I am very relaxed in the kitchen.  I love chopping, mixing, and sauteeing….you name it….it’s fun!  When I busy, I don’t get to spend as much time in my favorite spot.  Last night, I decided to pull out the food processor and try my hand at homemade almond butter.  I stumbled upon a great blog – How Sweet It Isand loved Jessica’s recipe for chocolate cherry almond butter.  I adore almond butter, like most nut butters, and was excited to give my own version a go.

I used Jessica’s measurements, but substituted dried cranberries for the dried cherries.  The almonds went in the food processor first.

Then I added the cocoa powder, cranberries, and canola oil.

I processed the mix for quite awhile.  I kept stopping to scrape everything towards the blades and make sure the grinder could do its job.  After some time, it seemed done and the flavor was perfect, but I could not get the texture right.  My almond butter came out dry and grainy.  Maybe it needed more oil?!  Ah well, it tastes great!

I tested some on a graham cracker and Lucy caught a nibble…she agreed!  It isn’t what I hoped for, but this will definitely get eaten up!

Have you ever made a nut butter at home?

What’s the trick?

***

To make up for last night’s kitchen fail, I made an extra special breakfast.  I took my time and made Blueberry-Banana Oat Pancakes!

The batter (serves one):

  • 1/3 c. quick-cooking oats
  • 1/3 c. egg whites
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • sprinkle of cinnamon
  • 1/2 c. fresh blueberries

I mixed up the batter and poured it onto the hot griddle.  While the pancakes cooked, I sliced up a banana and added that to the griddle.  Halfway through, I flipped the pancakes and the banana.  The griddle got my banana slices all melty, sweet, and caramelized…YUM!  I added some PB and SF Maple Syrup.  This hit the spot!

We’re expecting record high temps in RI today!  I can’t wait to enjoy an iced coffee after work :).

Happy Hump Day, folks!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 11:40 am

    Ahh sorry it didn’t turn out great, girl! Did you stream the oil in the top? That is usually what works for me. A little more oil probably would have helped!

    • April 7, 2010 8:03 pm

      I think I messed up with the oil…but it still tastes amazing! Luckily, I solved the problem and had some on a sandwich for lunch – delish! Thanks for the inspiration!

  2. April 7, 2010 3:03 pm

    I had a similar experience with hazelnuts. I decided I’d try to make Nutella at home and had the same result, grainy and dry. Haven’t tried it again but likely will some day. I do make my own peanut butter though…EASY and EXCELLENT. 1 jar lightly salted peanuts + 1 Tbsp of honey in food pro. Spin for a good while, it will look like a failure but your patience will be rewarded, if you let it go long enough the gritty ball will break down into a paste and eventually into a nice smooth and creamy PB. I will never buy peanut butter again!

Leave a Reply

