Skip to content

Lots Going On

April 10, 2010

It’s been a busy day.  Go, go, go!  Lots that I enjoyed…except the rain…but it’s always tiring to feel rushing and running.  I planned a fun afternoon at school.  We’ve been reading Peter Rabbit and studying gardens – ’tis the season! – so today, I brought in garden fruits/vegetables for the kids to see, smell, touch, and taste.

Just call me Beck McGregor! We munched on broccoli, green leaf lettuce, cukes, carrots, radishes, and tomatoes.  The class favorite was tomatoes. I noticed more than a few radishes in the trash :).  They do pack a punch!

***

I raced out of work to make it to my haircut this afternoon.  I grabbed a PB&J Larabar for the road.

Good afternoon snack.  Good time at the salon.  I love getting my hair cut, but went very conservative today.  Beware, I do have thoughts of something slightly more drastic!  I’m saving that for another day.

I was rained on, but I’ll share a “photo booth” shot of the trim!

***

I wrapped up at the salon just in time to meet Gram and the ‘rents for a hearty Italian dinner.  We went to Pinelli’s Cucina. The restaurant is known for their traditional Italian dishes and superhuman servings!  I decided on a backwards dinner.

It started with seasoned focaccia and olive oil, like only Pinelli’s can do.

The bruschetta of the day immediately grabbed my attention.  I knew I had to have it!  The dinner partners weren’t interested in an appetizer, but I ordered it anyway.

The dish included roasted chicken tenderloins, peas, and caramelized onions in a plum tomato sauce atop thick slices of tuscan bread.  I shared bites with my family and served myself an entree-sized portion.

My plate x2 – fantastico!  I loved every bite of this dish.  I’m so glad I ordered it.  For their initial lack of interest, I think everyone else enjoyed their tastes equally as much :).  When the other entrees arrived, I rounded out my meal with a fresh, green house salad.

It was simple and delicious with lots of greens, shredded carrots, and tomatoes in a sweet balsamic vinaigrette, my dressing of choice.  All of the dishes looked amazing and it was such a relaxing meal.  I go out with my gram often and it was nice to add my parents into the equation.  We discussed my marathon dreams and had lots of good conversation.  Nice night!

I was content when I left the restaurant, but rounded the evening out with a bit of dessert at home – gotta be fueled for 11 miles in the morning!

Nothing a little fro-yo and Annie’s Bunnies couldn’t satisfy!  Sweet ending to a long Friday.

G’night, dolls!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2010 1:35 am

    Ooh, drastic! I love drastic and dramatic hair changes! So fun.

  2. April 10, 2010 3:19 pm

    I love radishes. The garden sounds like a lot of fun for your class.

Trackbacks

  1. Let Vacation Commence! « Beck On the Run

Leave a Reply

