Skip to content

Acoustic Sunday

April 11, 2010

I love to listen to acoustic song arrangements.  They are raw, bare bones pieces that allow you to focus on particular instruments, voices, or lyrics.  Every Sunday, Mix 104.1 hosts Acoustic Sunrise.  It’s how I start my day and it’s perfect.  I love my Sunday morning routine.

  1. Oatmeal
  2. Acoustic Sunrise
  3. Yoga

Just like an acoustic song, it’s simple and unrefined.  I spend Sunday morning collecting my thoughts and preparing for the week ahead.  This morning was no different.  It started with a warm bowl of oatmeal in bed.

  • 1/2 c. old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 c. water
  • 1/2 c. skim milk
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • Toppings: 1 T. Teddie’s PB, 1 tsp. raspberry-chocolate jam, 1 T. granola mix

I followed it up with hot power yoga at Raffa.  The ride to and from yoga is just as enjoyable as class because I listen to my favorite acoustic songs.  Yoga was wonderful.  It was the first time I took the more advanced power yoga class…I’ve been going to the beginner class on Sundays. I was a little nervous going into class, but I wanted to test the waters.  I left feeling strong and accomplished.  I had no trouble keeping up with the class and enjoyed the faster, more intense approach.

My body felt like jello after class.  I’m always craving hot yoga after long runs, so this was perfect.  I drank tons of water all of the way home.  By the time I got home, I was hungry.  I showered, dressed, and fixed an early lunch.

I felt like I needed protein, so I experimented with egg whites and put together and egg white sandwich on a whole wheat english muffin.  I toasted the muffin with some shredded cheese and salsa, while I microwaved 1/3 c. of egg whites for 1 1/2 minutes.  I squished it all together and enjoyed!  Can you believe this is the first time I’ve eaten egg whites on their own?  This sandwich tasted great!  I need more egg whites in my life.  On the side I crunched on an apple and a tiny dish of chocolate Annie’s Bunnies.

I was glad that I ate an early lunch because it wasn’t long before I made plans to run errands for the afternoon.  I picked up a few goodies – t-shirts, etc – at the outlets.  I also braved Market Basket and stocked up on weekly staples.  Productive trip!  I managed to work up an appetite and snacked on a Luna Protein bar while I was out.

I loved this bar!  The cookie dough flavor was spot on.  The texture was great, too.  This is definitely my favorite in the Luna Protein line…and 12 grams of protein!  I’ll buy it again, for sure.

***

The whole time I was out, I was thinking about Lucy being stuck inside on a beautiful day.  Don’t worry…I remedied that situation!  We walked for 2.6 in the glorious spring breezes.  She sniffed and soaked it all in…proud as a peacock.  So many people are out and about…walking, running, biking, gardening…I love seeing folks getting down ‘n dirty outside!

I hope you are enjoying a relaxing Sunday!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

