Skip to content

Breakfast and Barney Butter

April 13, 2010

I think I’ve already shifted into vacation mode. It’s not even Wednesday, but I can’t seem to get moving in the morning.  I have no trouble waking up.  I just don’t seem to get anything done.  This morning I drank an extra cup of coffee and wasted precious moments of my life listening to Kate Gosselin rattle off on the Today Show.  Fortunately, I multi-tasked and caught up on some blog reading as well.  I ate a bowl of oats slowly as a surfed through the morning.

I won’t bore you with all the ingredients, but the toppings were extra yummy this morning – PB, dark chocolate chips, fresh strawberries, and shredded coconut! Anything with summer reminds of summer and the beach.  I long for beach days!

The day continued similar to the morning…meandering and relaxed.  No complaints.  I only had to run 3 miles today, and I planned for speed.  I ate some granola-trail mix hybrid as an afternoon snack.

I can’t get enough of this stuff – yogurt covered raisins, almonds, granola – genius!  I love it!  I picked a giant bag of this up at BJ’s, but the bag promptly ripped, so I store the mix in a giant ziploc.  When I restock, I will definitely share more info because this is worth a try.

The run went well.  I tried another new route…keeping boredom at bay.  It was fun, hilly, and challenging.  I pushed myself and felt like I was really huffing and puffing by the time I reached home.  It’s funny how 3 miles can seem equally as difficult as 11 miles some days…the joys of running!

Total Distance: 3.0 m

  • Mile 1 – 8:04/mi
  • Mile 2 – 8:22/mi
  • Mile 3 – 8:38/mi

Average Pace: 8:21/mi

Total Time: 25:07

In typical Beck fashion, I planned dinner while running.  I needed to grab a couple ingredients at the store and look what was on sale:

A big ol’ jar of Barney Butter – ON SALE! If you live near Shaw’s, you must go get some.  You will not be disappointed.  It has been way too long since I’ve had this stuff and I can’t wait to dig in!

Dinner is in the works…can’t wait to share!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2010 9:28 pm

    Kate Gosselin drives me nuts…haha! I am so over that whole story! Anyway…haven’t ever had Barney Butter…isn’t that sad? We don’t get here…or at least I haven’t ever seen it. 😦 Can’t wait to see your dinner!!

  2. Betsy permalink
    April 14, 2010 12:29 am

    Oh, I know, Isn’t Kate Gosselin sickening! Total waste of time!
    Anyway, I looked for Barney Butter at Whole Foods in Atlanta this weekend and they don’t have it. Bummer. Wanted to try it. I bought Blue Diamond instead.
    You got me started eating almond butter 🙂 Love it!
    Hope your week goes by quick. Tomorrow is 1/2 way. yeah

Leave a Reply

