Skip to content

The Grill Master

April 13, 2010

Yep.  Just like George Foreman, I grill. Tonight I fired up the grill for the first time this season.  I used to be deathly afraid of the fiery beast, but I’ve grown to love it’s powers over food.  I had a craving for change tonight.  It’s easy to get stuck in a dinnertime rut.  My typical fall backs include chicken breast and pasta.  I knew this meal would have neither.

Grilled Pork Cutlets, Brown Rice Pilaf, and Lemon-Almond Green Beans

Yum, yum, and yum!  I rarely eat pork, but tonight it was exactly what I wanted to grill.  The sides worked perfectly to create a quick, healthy, workday meal.

The pork.

I bought a package of thinly sliced, all natural pork cutlets.  I tenderized the meat and tossed this marinade together:

  • 1/3 c. low-sodium soy sauce
  • 3 T. lemon juice
  • 1 T. worcestershire sauce
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 1 T. brown sugar
  • 1/2 T. minced garlic

The pork only marinated for about an hour and is was tender, juicy, and flavorful!  Of course, marinades only get better over time, so if you are quicker than me, you could plan ahead and really up the flavor quotient!  Regardless, the meat was tasty!  I didn’t exactly calculate the grilling time – I go by the look – but I’d say these cutlets only needed about 4 minutes per side.  They were super thin…and super good!

The green beans.

Now this was simple!  I poured a bag of frozen vegetables into a microwave safe bowl with 1 T. water and 1 T. lemon juice.  I steamed them for 3 minutes, stopping to stir halfway through.  While the green beans steamed, I toasted sliced almonds on the stovetop – be speedy, they burn! When the green beans were cooked, I just combined everything.  Easy-peasy!

The rice.

Nothing fancy – box ‘o rice.  These are great to have on hand.  They are easy to prepare and taste really good.  I don’t discriminate when it comes to rice, but I think even picky eaters will enjoy the healthy twist on classic rice pilaf.  I try to stick to whole grains whenever possible and these little boxes make life a little easier :).

What’s your favorite grillin’ food? My pork was great, but I really do love classic BBQ chicken with a thick, sticky layer of sauce…yum!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 14, 2010 12:01 am

    YUM!!! And you rock…the big grill totally imtidates me!!

Leave a Reply

