Skip to content

The World Wakes Up

April 15, 2010

Last night I laid out my running gear – even 1/2 a Clif Bar for fuel!  I hoped it would help me when the alarm rang at 5 AM.  I’ve wanted to incorporate some morning runs into my routine, but the cold, dark hours of the morning haven’t seemed too inviting.

Today was the day!  5 am – I was up and at ’em.  I pulled on my gear, ate my pre-run snack, and fired up the Garmin.  I was off!  As soon as I hit the pavement, I felt like I won the battle.  Getting out there was the toughest part!  I will admit, it was a little lonely out there.  For the first mile, the only car I saw was delivering newspapers in my neighborhood, but as the miles passed the birds chirped louder and the sun shone brighter.  I felt some pep in my step!

Total Distance: 5.01 m

  • Mile 1 –
  • Mile 2 –
  • Mile 3 –
  • Mile 4 –
  • Mile 5 –

Average Pace: 8:35/mi

Total Time: 42:58

I’m so glad I went out this morning.  In the coming months, as the temperatures rise, I need to do more of my runs in the morning.  It was an obstacle I had to overcome – done and done!

I got home just in time to get ready for work.  I showered, dressed, and made a warm bowl of oats.  I needed something hearty because it was pretty chilly out there this morning!

It was my usual oatmeal/banana mixture, topped with Barney Butter, dried cranberries, and dark chocolate chips.  This will power me through another day!

I have fun plans to go to The Wheeler School Yard Sale this afternoon.  I can’t wait to hunt for treasure!

Are you a bargain shopper? I never really buy things for myself at yard sales, but they are great for stocking my classroom with things like books, puzzles, and toys.

Happy almost Friday!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2010 12:53 pm

    Congrats on getting out there this morning! Won’t it be nice to have a little bit of spare time this afternoon?

    Btw, I think I was in your neck of the woods this weekend. We stopped at the Panera near Garden City (off 95 on route 2 i think?) on our drive home from MA to NYC!

    • April 15, 2010 3:19 pm

      Thanks! I plan to enjoy the afternoon on the east side!

      You were actually on the same street as my yoga studio…and only a few exits away from my city! Lots of fun in RI 🙂

  2. April 15, 2010 2:36 pm

    Great job getting out there! Welcome to the Morning Exercisers Club!

    I’m definitely a bargain shopper. I love Target and sale racks. I can’t imagine dropping loads of cash at big name stores on labels. It just doesn’t make sense to me.

Leave a Reply

