Skip to content

The East Side

April 16, 2010

It was a glorious afternoon to spend on College Hill.  After work I made my way over to Providence’s “east side” – home of Brown, RISD, and an eclectic mix of shops and restaurants.  The Wheeler School held their annual clothing sale, so I met my friend, Lolly and her family (shout out to my new readers!) to browse around.  One man’s trash is another man’s treasure, right? Wrong! We walked into a gymnasium jam packed with people and racks upon of racks of clothes, shoes, and accessories.  I think we all got overwhelmed within minutes.  Oh well!  It was worth a shot.

To make up for our bad luck at the sale, we hit up some shops along Thayer Street.  I may have bought some new running shorts along the way….

When dinner time rolled around, Lolly and I decided to eat at Paragon.  I’ve never had a bad meal there and I love the cool, cafe vibe of the place.  I ordered the Paragon Salad with grilled chicken.

This was a beautiful and delicious salad.  Nothing can match the pairing of tomatoes, fresh mozzarella, and balsamic vinegar.  This salad hit the trifecta!  I almost order a Thai chicken wrap to mix things up, but I’m so glad I went with this.  A fresh salad rarely disappoints…and what’s even better? Frozen yogurt!

Our table at Paragon had me staring directly out the window at Juniper!  Yes, that Juniper – the very place I ordered my first tart yogurt last weekend!  You know I went back.  Would I even be Beck if I didn’t?!

I went all out tonight.  I chose a small, original fro-yo with 3 toppings – strawberries, kiwi, and coconut.  Hail coconut!  It added the perfect amount of sweetness to the tart yogurt and it complimented the other fruity toppings so nicely.  I must say, three toppings is the way to go.

Have you tried tart frozen yogurt yet? If you haven’t, you must!  If you have, what’s your favorite topping?

***

Before all the fun began this afternoon, I tore into a Luna Bar in the car.  I had a new flavor in my purse and it was time to give it a try.

Nice work, Luna!  This was a tasty bar.  The berry flavor was infused throughout the bar, so it was a little sticky and sweet with chunks of almonds mixed in.  I liked that it was more fruity and less dessert-y – i.e. chocolate, caramel – because sometimes the super sweet bars are a bit much.  This bar also did a great job keeping me full and energized until dinner.

It’s only 9 PM and my eyelids are heavy.  Early mornings make for early nights!  Lucy’s calling my name.  I must go.

Raise your hand if you can tell me what tomorrow is. Friday?  BINGO, baby!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2010 11:37 am

    I love Pinkberry! And all kinds of tart frozen yogurt. My new favorite topping at pinkberry is Pom juice drizzled on top. SO GOOD!

  2. April 16, 2010 1:28 pm

    I need to hit up Juniper! I’ll trick my bf into visiting his family in Rhode Island and then beg to stop there heeheehee!

    I just have to say that I really like your writing style on your blog. I’m not sure what it is exactly, but your voice really comes through in your writing. I feel like your sitting next to me talking. Sorry if that sounds weird, it’s just not very common on blogs is all.

    Have a great weekend!

  3. April 16, 2010 3:17 pm

    i LOVE pinkberry — fave toppings? yogurt chips! I normally get yogurt chips, coconut and mango or banana

    best combo ever.

Leave a Reply

