Skip to content

At The Expo

April 17, 2010

I’m on vacation!  It’s a rainy, dreary day in New England, but the sun’s shining brightly in my world.  I woke up to a yummy bowl of stovetop oats.

Nothing like banana oats with dried cranberries, dark chocolate chips, and Barney Butter!  This bowl powered me through a busy morning of travel to the big city – Boston!

When I arrived, I dropped my bags at Melissa’s before heading to the Hynes Convention Center for the B.A.A. Running Expo.  We picked up our race packet’s for tomorrow’s 5K and took our time enjoying the expo.  Runner heaven!

This was my first real running event and I was super excited to be there.  It was a great opportunity to network, sample products, and shop.

For a mid-morning snack, I nabbed bits and bites of all the samples offered:

Clif Roks.

Odwalla Pink Poetry.

Popcorn with Lemon-y Fish Oil - omega 3's!

Luna Chocolate Cherry Almond Protein Bar bite.

My favorite sample was the cookie dough Clif Rok.  These were explained as a high-protein recovery snack and they were tasty!  I wouldn’t mind nibbling on a couple of these after a tough run!

By the end of the expo, I had a full bag of free samples.  I can’t wait to taste some new bars and granola…don’t worry, I’ll share my thoughts!

The freebies.

Of course I couldn’t walk past all of the busy booths without purchasing some goodies for myself.

I got a new running belt, but I was most excited about this fabulous t-shirt from The Hall Steps Foundation.  It was really exciting to spend time at their booth and discuss the foundation’s mission.  They have developed a plan to use running as a means to empower disadvantaged youth, eradicate poverty, and fight social injustices.  This foundation needs people to volunteer at the grassroots level to build effective programs in their communities.  I bought the t-shirt to support the cause and look forward to making further contacts.  I would love to develop a program in my community and involve the students I work with everyday.  The Hall Steps Foundation seemed so aligned with everything I stand for and I can’t wait to get involved with them!

Being surrounded by marathoners really brought my marathon dreams to life!  I cannot wait to be there someday!

We made the decision to skip our long run today.  We have our race tomorrow and I have all week to fit in a long run…I’m thinking Tuesday!  I’m really enjoying this Saturday and doing the things I love!

Happy Saturday!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Pamela Paige permalink
    April 17, 2010 10:49 pm

    Wow, you must have loved that Expo. Like you said it was a runner’s paradise. Glad you are having fun. Lucy is doing fine…..not really moving much and loving every minute of lounging away the day!! Good luck tomorrow in your race. Love you!!

Leave a Reply

