Skip to content

A Saturday in the City

April 18, 2010

As promised, I’m back with a full recap of my fun day in Boston.  After meeting Melissa and browsing the expo, we gussied ourselves up for a fun event.  Melissa won tickets to Wine Riot and invited me as her guest for the afternoon.

We were “women of the vine” for the afternoon!  We each received a glass and browsed through different booths sampling wines.  I must say, Melissa impressed me with her wine knowledge!  I drink wine – red or white – that’s all I know!  I did learn a few new things along the way.

As we walked through the venue, we quickly realized that this event was more of an opportunity for wine distributors to showcase their products.  There were not many vineyards featured; however, we did discover one hidden gem: Westport Rivers Vineyard and Winery.

The wines from this local vineyard were my favorite, by far! I was especially impressed with the rosee that I tasted.  I also enjoyed a sample of their chardonnay, which was equally good.  This would be a great place to visit for touring and tasting.

Of course, I sampled the Relax Riesling for all the ladies.  This one’s for you, Patty!

Melissa and I had a great time at the event, but we both agreed that we were glad we went with complimentary tickets.  I’m not sure I would be willing to pay the $45 entry for this experience.

***

I had enough sips of wine to know that a hearty lunch was necessary.  We met Jared at Francesca’s and ordered delicious sandwiches to go.

I loved every bite of “The Caprese”  – fresh mozzarella, lettuce, tomato, pesto, and balsamic vinegar on a crusty hunk of ciabatta.  Yum!  Then it was time to bond and blog with my cousin.

Be prepared for the unveiling of a new and improved Beck On The Run very soon! Jared shared his computer knowledge with me and helped me work on the blog for quite awhile….still have some kinks to work out before you get to check it out, though!

***

I enjoyed a few hours of down time at the apartment before heading out with a group of Melissa and Jared’s friends for the evening.  We enjoyed dinner and live music at The Middle East.  Their menu had lots of fun Mediterranean selections and a great list of vegetarian options.

To start, we shared a hummus, tabouli, and baba ghanooj appetizer platter and a pitcher of Harpoon UFO.

I loved the soft wedges of pita bread that paired perfectly with all of the dips, but the baba ghanooj was definitely my favorite!  It’s something I rarely eat, so it was quite enjoyable.  I’m not much of a beer drinker, but this was a tasty brew…and very filling!

Melissa and I split an entree – the Middle Eastern Cous Cous.  Delish!

This platter had chickpeas, couscous and vegetables in a tomato-y sauce.  I need to eat chickpeas more often…so good and good for you!

We finished the night off with some live music.  I wasn’t familiar with the band and probably wouldn’t recommend them, but the atmosphere was fun!  It was great to meet Melissa’s group of friends and spend a night out in the city!

It was so nice to reconnect with my cousin and kick-off my vacation with some fun in the city!  Thanks for the great time, Melissa!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2010 8:57 pm

    Looks like a really fun day in Beantown! I didn’t know that there was a vineyard in Westport. I might have to visit sometime this summer!

  2. Patty permalink
    April 19, 2010 2:20 pm

    Yum-oh!! The relax reisling is one of my “cheap” favorites by far!! It is not expensive but delicious for an everyday occasion!! 🙂 Sounds like you had a great time!

Leave a Reply

