Skip to content

Home Again, Home Again

April 18, 2010

The results are in.  My Garmin was having trouble locating satellites in the city this morning, so it didn’t join me for the race. We ran for fun and accomplished that goal, but I’m still always anxious to get official race results.

1485 116/424  F2529   27:52.9   26:33   8:33 Rebecca Paige          25 F  4355 Woonsocket RI

Not too shabby!  Now I’m really looking forward to a 12 miler on Tuesday…bring on the distance!

***

Getting back on topic…I’m home again!  I wasn’t away for long, but it’s always nice to come home.

I had my camera out in the train station and a kind traveler offered to take my picture.  I was not ready for a photo op – yikes!

Before hauling myself to the train, I packed in a little more fun in Boston.  We swung through the expo one last time.  I purchased another pair of my favorite running shoes – 15% off!  I also enjoyed more free samples.

Carolina Rice.

Planters Nut-trition Trail Mix - yum!

It was a rainy, overcast morning and we were all feeling a little drained from the busy day before.  I’m heading back in for the marathon tomorrow, so I decided to head home early, relax and enjoy some time with my pup!  Melissa recommended a fun spot on the way to the train station, so I popped in for lunch.

b. good was great!  They serve ” real food fast” and it did not disappoint.  I was definitely in the mood for veggies and lucky for me, they had veggies on the menu!  I ordered the veggie burger on a whole wheat bun, topped with lettuce, tomato, and buffalo sauce with a side of grilled asparagus.  My order was out within minutes and everything tasted fresh and delicious.  The menu was small – burgers, salads, veggies, fries, and sweet potato fries, plus some fruity shakes – and everything looked exceptionally good!  If I ever return, I will order sweet potato fries. After placing my order, I saw a few orders of these hand cut fries and I started to drool….really!  If you need something quick in the city, find this place and stop in.  Tell ’em Beck sent ya!

I walked in the door around 3 and I’ve done a lot of nothing since then…perfect Sunday.  I needed those precious hours of nothingness.  I followed them up with a simple, home-cooked dinner.

My mom and I collaborated to whip a healthy, comforting family meal – baked chicken, roasted butternut squash and beets, mashed potatoes, and green beans.  I had a little of everything and I loved it all.  Good home cookin’ – there’s nothing like it!

I’m getting super excited for the marathon tomorrow.  The expo got my marathon juices flowing and I can’t wait to be there cheering for every runner that crosses the line.

Will you be watching the marathon this year? It’s my first time going to the event….can you tell?!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

