Skip to content

Ready, Set, Go!

April 19, 2010

Marathon Monday!  It’s here!  I am so excited to stand on Boylston Street and cheer my little heart out as each and every runner makes that final turn today.  As crazy as it may sound, I get really emotional about the whole thing.  The runners train with everything they have for months to make it to that finish line.  What a huge accomplishment!

I couldn’t head out for a day of running without squeezing in a little run of my own.  I woke up early and ate 1/2 a chocolate chip Clif bar before hitting the road.

No!  I didn’t give Lucy the other half! I began my run at about 6:15 AM.  It was the perfect time for a morning run.  Last week I ran so early that it was still dark…and scary…but an hour later the world was bright, sunny, and awake.  I’m running 12 miles tomorrow, so I decided today would be easy.  I just took in the scenery and took comfortable breaths as I ran along.

Total Distance: 3.41 m

  • Mile 1 – 8:35/mi
  • Mile 2 – 8:47/mi
  • Mile 3 – 8:54/mi
  • 0.41 m – 8:38/mi

Average Pace: 8:44/mi

Total Time: 29:47

I’ve been reading a lot of articles and training guides written by running experts.  They all emphasize the importance of the easy run. I feel like I haven’t really incorporated enough of this type of running into my training.  I always strap on the Garmin and try to run hard and fast.  I know I’m no speed demon, but my speed has increased considerably during training.  I tried to hold back today and it was harder than I thought.  I probably should’ve kept my pace a little slower, but I fell into a natural rhythm and felt good.

I came home and ate a satiating breakfast to carry me through a busy day.

This bowl contained oatmeal, a dollop of Barney Butter, strawberries, dark chocolate chips, and shredded coconut.  I love the way these flavors worked together and my body needed the fresh fruit.  Yum, yum!

…and I’m off!  Be prepared for lots of pictures of this exciting day!

Do you have the day off?

What are you doing to enjoy it?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2010 7:20 pm

    Sadly, I have to work, but I did track a bunch of people running Boston. Hope you had fun!

  2. April 19, 2010 7:53 pm

    I’ve been off since Friday woo hoo! Great job on your 5k yesterday and on your run today. Pace runs are important…so I’ve heard, but I say go with what feels good and you can’t go wrong.

Leave a Reply

