Skip to content

Long and Strong

April 20, 2010

Since I had so many fun many fun things to do over the weekend, I juggled my training schedule and planned a long run for this morning.  Melissa came to my neck of the woods and we squeezed in our last training run together.  If I plan to run a marathon, I know I need to treat my body properly each time I run.

I started long run preparation with a yummy dinner last night.

I filled my bowl with whole wheat spaghetti, roasted vegetables – eggplant, zucchini, and red peppers – marinara sauce, and shredded mozzarella.  It was a perfect pre-run dinner.  I also munched on some unpictured fresh fruit for dessert.  After eating out so often over the past few days, I always enjoy coming home to a fresh, healthy meal.

Fueling continued when I woke up this morning.  My stomach was grumbling so I made an extra filling bowl of oats.

I tweaked my oatmeal recipe because my body doesn’t tolerate dairy too well and the milk hasn’t been agreeing with me lately.  I plan to stock up on almond milk, but in the meantime, I went with this recipe:

  • 1/2 c. old-fashioned oats
  • 3/4 c. water
  • 1/4 c. skim milk
  • 1 banana
  • cinnamon
  • raisins
  • Toppings: a big scoop of PB and some white chocolate chips

This was tasty, but I didn’t feel really satisfied after eating it.  I just felt hungry this morning and I knew I couldn’t set out on a long run with hunger pangs.  Our run was planned for later morning – 10:45-ish – so I ate a solid mid-morning snack around 10.

Half a Clif bar was just what I needed.  These bars always give me the energy I need for runs and my body finally felt content!

Melissa and I hit the road as scheduled and pushed ourselves through a hilly, windy long run.  The weather was really weird.  It went from warm and sunny to breezy and overcast.  It even started to shower on us at one point!  I’d run parts of this “out and back” course before, but I definitely didn’t realize how many hills and gradual inclines we would face.  Regardless, we forged on and completed a solid run!

Total Distance: 11.64 m

  • Mile 1 – 8:40/mi
  • Mile 2 – 9:30/mi
  • Mile 3 – 9:16/mi
  • Mile 4 – 9:18/mi
  • Mile 5 – 9:16/mi
  • Mile 6 – 9:46/mi
  • Mile 7 – 9:28/mi
  • Mile 8 – 9:25/mi
  • Mile 9 – 9:24/mi
  • Mile 10 – 9:24/mi
  • Mile 11 – 9:44/mi
  • 0.64 m – 9:50/mi

Average Pace: 9:24/mi

Total Time: 1:49:32

I will admit, I felt the pressure mounting as I worked through this run.  It was my third consecutive day of running and I didn’t feel my strongest.  The whole time I ran I thought about my running goals.  I know I can run the half-marathon.  In fact, I can’t wait for race day!  I just don’t wait to put so much pressure on myself that I lose sight of the big picture – the accomplishment that is running 13.1 miles!  I also have 26.2 miles looming over me.  Again, I know this is a completely achievable goal.  I want to let go and love running.  I want to push myself without pressuring myself.  This may be the toughest thing for a perfectionist like me to do…one step at a time!

I just refueled with a PBJ and a clementine.

Long runs seem to suppress my appetite a bit.  I have a lot of calories to make up for, so I know I’ll need to have a bigger afternoon snack to supplement.  No complaints!  I love food!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 21, 2010 8:55 am

    Great job on your run! Just make sure you’re following a good training schedule and aren’t overtraining. I think your love of yoga will supplement your training as well. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

