Skip to content

Small Plates, Big Tastes

April 21, 2010

I met my friend and her niece for lunch today.  We decided to hit up Providence Place and started at The Cheesecake Factory.  I love the food at “Cheesecake,” but it is definitely not for the faint of heart.  They serve everything in super-human portions, enough to feed a growing giant!  They offer some healthy options in the “weight management” section of the menu.  Weight management?! Something about labeling healthy food as “weight management” just seems a little off to me.  Some of us just want enjoy fresh, wholesome food.  Ah well, it’s good to have options!

I started with my favorite bread.  The bread I so affectionately call “the brown bread.”  I could eat an entire loaf, but I stuck to one piece, smeared with some butter.

I had a great time snapping photos at lunch and giving my friend’s niece a glimpse of blogging in action!  She’s such a smart girl and a loyal follower of the blog – you rock, Alexandra!

I got excited when I cracked open the menu this afternoon.  I found the “Small Plates and Snacks” section!  It had some great choices, but I knew what I wanted right away.  You know I love my greens!  I had to start with the “little house salad with vinaigrette.”

I felt like Goldilocks…the was just right! The salad was a nice size with a lovely blend of dark, leafy greens and fresh, ripe tomatoes.  I drizzled the balsamic dressing on top to add another layer of flavor.  Yum!

It’s been awhile since I’ve had a good pizza, so the “pizzettes” on the menu caught my eye.  I ordered a margherita pizzette.

Again…just right! This serving of pizza was perfectly doughy, tomato-y, and cheesy.  I loved the fresh basil sprinkled over the top, too.  My friend and her niece got different pizzas and salads, which all looked delicious as well.  Lunch at The Cheesecake Factory is definitely the way to fuel for shopping!  What an enjoyable midday meal!

***

My ladies’ lunch kept me full and satisfied for quite awhile.  It powered me through an afternoon of mall-walking and dog-walking.  By the time I was hungry for dinner, I had no ambition to cook.  I made use of some leftovers and cobbled together a pretty tasty dinner.  Simple, but full of flavor!

My dinner consisted of baked chicken, a baked sweet potato, and some fresh raw veggies.  What can I say – it worked!  I have this eccentric little habit of saving the best for last. Tonight I ate my dinner in the following order:

  1. Veggies.
  2. Chicken.
  3. Sweet potato.

I love me some sweet ‘taters!  Just a sprinkle of cinnamon and I’m in sweet potato heaven.  Everyone once in awhile I rebel and try to eat around the plate, if you will.  It just doesn’t work.  I don’t know what it is, but every meal is more satisfying when I save my favorite thing for the end.

Do you have any odd eating habits? It’s okay…we all have our quirks!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2010 12:03 am

    Okay here is my food quirk…I am NOT a food mixer. I eat everything separately! So if my plate has a chicken breast, broccoli and a sweet potato…I will eat all the broccoli first, then the chicken, and finally the sweet potato. I also aways eat the veggies first, the protein second and the starch last…weird huh?

  2. Alexandra permalink
    April 22, 2010 1:06 am

    Thanks Becky!The lunch was awesome and I cant wait to meet with u again. I’m now quite sure what my food quirk is. lol

Leave a Reply

