Skip to content

What Not To Wear

April 22, 2010

Morning!  I just came in from a five miler.  See what I wore?  It was wrong.  All wrong!  Last night I watched the weather. Running has turned me into quite the weather watcher! Anyway, I watched and saw rain.  I had myself all prepared to hit the treadmill today.

Imagine my surprise when I awoke to bright blue skies and sunshine!  I flipped on the TV and saw the same forecast – clouds, fog, rain.  Hmm…I figured if I got my act in gear I’d be able to beat the rain.  The corner of the TV screen said 47*.  I pulled on the above running outfit and hit the road.

Yuck!  It was hot!  If it was 47* out there, then pigs were flying above me!  47*, my foot!  Ugh!  It was a totally uncomfortable 5 miles.  I felt like I was working extra hard every step of the way….and not a drop of rain in sight!

***

I may have been ill-prepared in the clothing department, but I did eat a good pre-run breakfast.

This was just a classic peanut butter sandwich, smeared between two slices of yoga bread.  On the side, I had the last of my cantaloupe.  Good as usual.

And here’s some stats on my hot and sweaty run…

Total Distance: 5.0 m

  • Mile 1 – 8:23/mi
  • Mile 2 – 8:48/mi
  • Mile 3 – 8:55/mi
  • Mile 4 – 8:33/mi
  • Mile 5 – 8:46/mi

Average Pace: 8:41/mi

Total Time: 43:28

When I got home, I was actually pretty happy.  It wasn’t so bad after all!  I ran strong and learned a lesson in dressing properly.

I took my time stretching and foam rolling, then I promptly made a post-run snack.

I chose Greek yogurt.  It has the carbs and protein I need after a tough workout.  With a little jam and granola, plain Greek yogurt is amped up to greatness!  It will definitely keep me satisfied until lunchtime.

The sun still shining.  I feel like I need to get out there and take advantage before the rain rolls in.

It’s Thursday already?!  Why, yes!  Happy Thursday!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 22, 2010 1:43 pm

    You look too cute though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

