Skip to content

Trust In Hal

April 23, 2010

Today is my last real vacation day.  Boo.  I always think of Friday as the end of vacation because I have every weekend off.  Sometimes I dwell on it and ruin those last couple days.  Not this time!  I plan to maximize the vacation hours I have left and enjoy every second!

I woke up later than usual this morning and I was hungry!  I made a filling and delicious Friday breakfast.  Pancakes!

Blueberry Oat-Flax Cakes.

  • a little less than 1/3 c. quick-cooking oats
  • 1 T. ground flaxseed
  • 1/3 c. liquid egg whites
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 c. frozen blueberries

I just cooked these up on the griddle and voila! Breakfast was served.  I topped my ‘cakes with some Barney Butter and SF maple syrup.  They were so good.  Every time I make pancakes, I vow to do so more often…gotta get on that! The protein from the egg whites really amps up the nutritional value of this meal and powers me through ’til lunch.

And hold me it did!  I went out with momma to run some Friday morning errands and enjoy a nice little lunch.  We hit up Borders, Marshall’s, Old Navy…all the local hot spots!  Look what I scored a deal on at Marshall’s!

$4.99 each! Yep, I said $4.99!  I always check the gourmet food section in Home Goods, Marshall’s, or TJ Maxx.  I’ve discovered some great items at super low prices.  These jars normally go for $9 at Whole Foods.  I took of lick of each when I got home…just making sure they’re still good! Finger-lickin’ good!

Mom and I went for our traditional Panera lunch this afternoon.  I wanted to be more interesting, but I was just craving my favorite “you pick two” combo: classic cafe salad, tomato-basil panini, and an apple.

The apple made it’s way into my purse.  I think it’ll be the perfect match for my new almond butter this afternoon!

***

All week I’ve had marathon thoughts running through my brain.  I am super excited and nervous about running a marathon!  I’m so glad that training doesn’t begin until June.  I really need some time to digest and determine how I will properly train for this major event.  One thing I know for sure is this – I am in the hands of Hal.  Hal Higdon, that is!  I based my half-marathon training on his wisdom and plan to do the same for the marathon.  I really like his approach to running and can’t wait to learn more from this expert.

I’ve got my reading material for the next few months.  Can’t wait to dig in!

What’s your favorite thing to do on a day off? I love lunch dates and lazy afternoons…a mani/pedi doesn’t hurt either!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2010 8:59 pm

    My favorite thing to do on my days off is, uh, nothing. I’m not one of those people who likes to run around on my days off. I like to sit on my butt and watch Glee, Real Housewives Of NYC, and 30 Rock. At least that’s what I’m doing tomorrow!

    Enjoy the book!

  2. April 23, 2010 9:35 pm

    Did you get a 2nd copy of that book? 😉

  3. Betsy permalink
    April 24, 2010 12:06 pm

    Hi Becky!
    That sounds like a great book. If you would like another suggestion, I loved “The Competitive Runner’s Handbook: The Bestselling Guide to Running 5k’s through Marathons” by Bob Glover.

    Every time I would train for a long run I would use this book. It comes in paperback only, compact and easy to carry around. “It was my running Bible” 🙂

    Happy training! Don’t be nervous! Have fun with it and “listen” to your body.

Leave a Reply

