Skip to content

Ladies of Leisure

April 24, 2010

On vacation, I become a lady of leisure. My mom is my partner in crime.  We’re both teachers so we enjoy our school breaks together.  Today we set out to enjoy a patio lunch in the sun.  “Doing lunch” is always a good way to enjoy great restaurants. The prices and portions are usually more reasonable during the lunch hour.

PAPA RAZZI has a nice outdoor seating area, so that’s where we headed.  By the time we arrived the patio was beyond full and my mom had a hungry runner on her hands!  We compromised and ate at a nice table by a window.  Everything about lunch was fantastic.  We took our time and enjoyed ourselves as we ate.

Like any good trattoria, we started with yummy breads – crunchy breadsticks, and warm focaccia.

I tasted each as I waited for my entree to arrive.  The focaccia was my favorite!

For lunch, I ordered the Vegetariano Panini.

It had grilled eggplant, tomatoes, basil, and mozzarella sandwiched between two doughy slices of bread.  This was a tasty sandwich, but it didn’t have the crunchy bread that’s typical of a panini.  It was good, though, and the side of mixed greens was the perfect addition to the plate.  I ate half of the sandwich and boxed up the rest for later.

The most exciting thing was dessert!  My mom and I decided to split the restaurants signature dessert, frutta al forno.

A warm fruit compote topped with creamy, vanilla gelato.

Even though I didn’t go away on my vacation, lunches like this make me feel like I savored my time off.  I bonded with family, had time for myself, and indulged a little along the way.  A perfect stay-cation!

I must say, I am excited to get back into the kitchen tonight and prepare a healthy, home-cooked meal.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 25, 2010 10:27 am

    I haven’t been to Papa Razzi since college! I need to head back there. Glad you enjoyed your time with your mom!

Leave a Reply

