Skip to content

The Final Countdown

April 24, 2010

The half-marathon is days away.  Days!  Can you believe it?  I can’t.  It seems I just ran my first 5K.  I feel ready though.  More than ready, actually.  I am really excited to run next week.  Really excited!

This morning I completed my final long training run.  I ate a stabilizing breakfast before the run.

Oatmeal is probably my favorite breakfast food, but peanut butter and banana sandwiches are by far the most functional meal I eat.  Oatmeal just doesn’t have the same effect before running.  These sandwiches keep me going without the heavy feeling you get from eating a big meal.

Since I was running alone, I pushed my pace a bit.  I kept thinking about this post by incredi-runner, Kelly.  She gives great information about running negative and even splits.  Ideally, I would like all my runs to end in negative or even splits.  I’ve trained for negative splits on the treadmill, but I have a tougher time on the road.  It’s something I’m working on.

My splits from todays run:

Total Distance: 10.0 miles

  • Mile 1 – 8:26/mi
  • Mile 2 – 9:04/mi
  • Mile 3 – 8:59/mi
  • Mile 4 – 9:11/mi
  • Mile 5 – 9:07/mi
  • Mile 6 – 9:10/mi
  • Mile 7 – 9:05/mi
  • Mile 8 – 9:26/mi
  • Mile 9 – 9:06/mi
  • Mile 10 – 9:23/mi

Average Pace: 9:06/mi

Total Time: 1:31:07

Negative splits? No way!  A good run? Yes, sir!  Even though I didn’t end the run with the splits I hoped for, I am happy about my average pace.  I am on track for a sub-2 hour half next week!

I wore a new running outfit today.  I think it helped!

These lulu shorts were so comfortable.  They were screaming my name.  Just look at the fun colors!  When I was in high school, I used to wear a shirt to field hockey practice that said, “Practice sucks, but I love the shoes!”  I’m a sucker for cute gear…a girly-girl at heart!

With the sun shining down on me, I enjoyed a post-run snack on the deck.

It’s time to unplug and get back outside on this gorgeous spring day!  I hope you are enjoying, too!

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 24, 2010 3:47 pm

    Awesome run and thanks for the sweet shout out!! I LOVE those shorts…I have been lusting after them for a while now too!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

