Skip to content

A Sunday of Eats

April 25, 2010

It’s been a super lazy day in Beckland!  I came home for a hot shower and sweats after that rainy walk.  I was chilled to the bone…and soaked to the skin…and a hot shower is the only remedy.  A warm puggle doesn’t hurt either!

My meals have been slightly unremarkable, but considering my laziness, I did try to keep my simple meals nutritious and delicious.

First up: breakfast!  I made use of some fresh fruits to create Bananaberry Pancakes.

I used an oatmeal pancake base of oats, egg whites, and baking powder.  This morning I just added sliced strawberries and 1/2 a banana to the batter.  I plopped the mix onto the griddle and formed my cakes.  They cooked up quick and had such sweetness from the fresh fruit.  I topped each cake with a smear of Justin’s Chocolate PB and a the remaining banana slices.  I enjoyed breakfast without syrup this morning…the sweet, caramelized fruit was just perfect on its own!

I walked my way through the morning without stopping for a snack.  I sipped a hot green tea from DD after walking, but decided against the donut combo :).  By the time I got home, I was hungry!  I quickly pieced together some semblance of a meal.

My plate included two slices of toast with almond butter, asparagus spears, and a sliced apple.  It only took minutes to prepare….and eat! I liked!

A few hours later, I went back to the kitchen for an afternoon snack.

The strawberries are still going strong!  I sliced up a few more red, ripe berries and topped them with some plain Greek yogurt and granola.  This was definitely a satisfying snack!

***

By the time dinner rolled around, I was tired of the same ole stuff!  I kept things homespun, but I did get a bit more creative.

A black bean burger. The easiest black bean burger ever!  I just mashed 1/3 c. black beans, 1 T. of whole-wheat breadcrumbs, and 2 T. salsa together to form patties.  I threw in some corn niblets at the last minute and cooked these up on the griddle.  Like any good burger should be, my patty was topped with cheese – and eaten bun-less.

Sweet potato fries. Nothing like hand-cut fries!  I cut up a small sweet ‘tater and coated it with some canola oil, cinnamon, salt, and ground flax.  The fries crisped up nicely at 400*.

Corn. Corn used to be the only veggie I ate.  Seriously.  I know, I know…I’ve learned!  I still love corn though.  Even the frozen kind.  I sprinkled some cayenne pepper over these niblets to really bring out the Tex-Mex in my meal.  It was a nice touch!

This meal was filling and delicious.  It felt like a departure from the meals I’ve been eating lately and I welcomed the change.  It’s nice to revive foods that have gone by the wayside.  I was all about the black beans for awhile…and they’re baaack!

***

The good times just kept on rolling in Beck’s kitchen tonight.  It’s Sunday.  Work resumes tomorrow.  Baking ensued.

Chocolate-Coconut Peanut Butter Bars (adapted from Tina’s recipe for Peanut Buttery Bars).

  • 1.5 c. old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 c. agave
  • 1/2 c. Justin’s Chocolate Peanut Butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 c. shredded coconut
  • dark chocolate chips (optional)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350* and coat baking dish with non-stick spray.
  2. Combine first five ingredients in a mixing bowl.
  3. Add 3 T. of shredded coconut to the batter.
  4. Spread batter evenly into the baking dish.
  5. Top with reserved coconut and dark chocolate chips.
  6. Bake at 350* for about 18 minutes.
  7. Allow to cool.
  8. Eat and enjoy!

And I enjoy, I did!  I crumbled my bars atop a small scoop of coffee ice cream.  Chocolate, coconut, coffee – the three C’s!

I think I’m finally willing to say goodbye to vacation and hello to another work week.  I can already hear excited kiddos waiting to share their vacation stories.  Fun, fun!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

