Skip to content

I Heart Grillz!

April 25, 2010

No!  Not those grillz…snazzy, but just not practical for a girl like me.  This grill is more my style.

Grilling in the new roasting. All winter long I enjoy the comfort-food quality of roasted meats and veggies, but as the mercury rises, the grill heats up.  I was excited to get busy in the kitchen tonight.  I was a craving a healthy, veggie-packed meal and that’s exactly what we had!

Chicken Kebabs.

All skewered and ready for the fire!  To assemble these kebabs, I did a little prep work with chicken and vegetables.  I made a big batch for my hungry family, which included:

  • 1.5 lbs of chicken breast, cubed and marinated in Newman’s Own Teriyaki Marinade
  • 1 large sweet onion
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1 green bell pepper
  • 1 yellow bell pepper
  • 1 summer squash
  • 2 small zucchini

I lined my skewers up on the grill, shut the cover, and let the fiery beast work its magic!

And that, my friends, is dinner!  I enjoyed one kebab along with some extra grilled veggies, asparagus (steamed in foil on the grill), and brown rice.  It was a perfectly well-rounded meal.  The grill really brought out the flavor of the veggies, especially the onions!  I love the charred edges best.  My dad’s still picking veggies off like candy…guess he liked ’em, too!

After dinner, I stayed in for a movie night.  I rarely watch movies due to a very short attention span.  Tonight was totally different.  I watched The Blind Side. Captivating!  My mom pretty much is Sandra Bullock’s character.  All my life we’ve had friends…and friends of friends…staying at our house.  My parents literally give everything to kids in need.  It was an amazing story, made even more powerful by my own life experiences.  I know I’m a little late to the party, but if you haven’t seen The Blind Side yet, you must.

Enjoy your Saturday night…there’s plenty more weekend left!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Betsy permalink
    April 25, 2010 11:24 am

    We loved the Blind Side as well. Such a great story. Sandra Bullock is so good.
    Yummy looking grill. Might have to do that this week while my parents are in town. 🙂
    Have a great Sunday

Leave a Reply

